- Do you have to hit a ball in pool?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
- When can you move the cue ball in pool?
- Can you jump the cue ball in 8 ball?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball first?
- Can you hop a ball in pool?
- What happens if you dont touch a ball in pool?
- How do you stop the cue ball in pool?
- Do you look at the cue ball or object ball?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Do you have to hit a ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket.
If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table..
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. … If you fail and put the white ball into a hole, it’s considered as a mistake (SCRATCH). If you make a fault, you are punished. The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
When can you move the cue ball in pool?
Only under certain circumstances can you pick up and move the cue ball mid-game while playing pool: If you are the one breaking at the beginning of the game, you can pick up the cue (white) ball and place it anywhere inside the “kitchen” (pictured below) prior to your break shot.
Can you jump the cue ball in 8 ball?
11.9 Jump Shots It is legal to cause the cue ball to leave the surface of the table by elevating the butt of the cue and, with a downward stroke, force the cue ball to rise off the playing surface. For the shot to be legal only the cue tip may touch the cue ball—the shot must not be “scooped” by the ferrule or shaft.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
Can you hop a ball in pool?
You can do a massé with a normal cue, and you can do a jump shot with a normal cue, but mainly a jump cue. If you really want to do an extreme massé, you need what is called a massé cue.
What happens if you dont touch a ball in pool?
If, during the course of a shot, the cue ball does not touch anything. … The cue ball is always “LIVE” and if the cue ball or the hand holding or moving it touches another ball, it is a cue ball foul and your opponent will receive “ball in hand”. Be especially careful when you are placing the cue ball in a tight spot.
How do you stop the cue ball in pool?
You can hit the cue ball low and with a slow stroke, or high and with a harder stroke. In either case, you can get the cue ball sliding so that when it hits the object ball full on, it will stop.
Do you look at the cue ball or object ball?
Do my eyes look at the cue ball or the ball being hit at time of stroking (impact) the shot in play.” What should we be doing with our eyes as we shoot? The generally accepted wisdom here is that we should be looking at the object ball or rail target as we strike the CB.
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn. The rules also note that if a pocket is full of balls and the cue ball touches one of the pocketed balls, it is a scratch.