- What do you do after you scratch in pool?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
- Can you shoot backwards in 8 ball?
- Do pool balls get old?
- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- Is it a scratch in pool if you don’t hit a ball?
- Can you move the white ball in pool after a foul?
- What happens when you get the white ball in?
- What is a table scratch in 8 ball?
- What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the break?
- What happens if you miss all balls in pool?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?
- Can you use opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Can you purposely scratch in pool?
- What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
- Do you pull a ball out on a scratch?
What do you do after you scratch in pool?
Additional rules specific to the game of 8-ball include: 6.
If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball..
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
means that you either hit the cue ball into a pocket, your opponent’s ball into a pocket, or you didn’t hit any balls at all. When you scratch, you automatically lose your turn. I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot).
Can you shoot backwards in 8 ball?
If you pot the nominated ball (except the black ball) it’s deemed legal and you continue with the break. … But of all the rules, one of the most protested is when your opponents sinks the white ball while making a shot – can you shoot the repositioned white ball on the “D” backwards. Well yes you can!
Do pool balls get old?
The average billiard balls wear out after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Is it a scratch in pool if you don’t hit a ball?
A table scratch occurs when a player fails to hit an object ball with the cue ball. Meaning the cue ball can hit cushions but still be considered a foul if it doesn’t contact an object ball.
Can you move the white ball in pool after a foul?
PENALTY FOLLOWING ANY FOUL If the cue ball has come to rest on the playing surface, then the player having two visits may proceed to play from where the cue ball lies, or the cue ball may be played from any position on or behind the baulk line. Moving the cue ball in this manner does not count as a shot, or visit.
What happens when you get the white ball in?
In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. … Bar Rules: Your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere they would like behind the head string.
What is a table scratch in 8 ball?
When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.
What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What happens if you miss all balls in pool?
Any balls moved accidentally during a shot will be replaced by the opponent after the shot is over and all balls have stopped rolling. If it occurs before the shot, it will be replaced before the shot is taken.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Can you use opponent’s ball in pool?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What happens if you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball. 20.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Can you purposely scratch in pool?
A foul is called only if the player fouls while actually stroking the cue ball, meaning a double hit of the cue ball (sometimes called double clutching). Without this rule, a player could benefit by accidentally or purposely scratching or fouling. … (A player who is shooting stripes must hit a striped ball first.)
What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
Do you pull a ball out on a scratch?
The Billiard Congress of America defines a scratch — a shot on which the cue ball is pocketed — as a foul. Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn.